Introducing Me and My Blog

Hello Strange People

Given that you are even the mildest bit curious as to what I might say, I am making the rather plausible assumption that you fall within the category of ‘Strange People’.  Either that or you are a spy from within my mental health team, in which case you are probably even more strange so I’ve got you covered too.

Well, I have the honour of being the last member of the human race to get into this blogging lark and given my unfamiliarity with blogging and that I’m pretty much a technophobe, please bear with me.

I’d like to introduce myself and tell you a wee bit about what I hope to cover in this blog although please note that this is prefaced with a disclaimer that the following may not be entirely accurate and you are not able to instigate proceedings against me for any losses sustained through reliance upon the following description 😉

I’m a former solicitor whose life was wreaked havoc upon by mental disorder.  Said mental disorder is Borderline Personality Disorder (although I also have recurrent depression and a current fight against being labelled as having Bipolar). However, after just over a year in an outpatient Dialectical Behaviour Therapy (DBT) programme, I’m attempting to rebuild some kind of meaningful life. Part of that journey will hopefully be my journey back (very gradually) into the world of work – my ultimate goal being to retrain as an Independent Mental Health Advocate (IMHA).

My general idea for this blog is to chart progress (and setbacks) on my journey back into the real world and the challenges I face.  However, it also likely to contain random rants and topics regarding mental health and illness, news and injustices.

After several tough years of hospitalisations etc, it’s difficult to remember who I am apart from the disorders.  This blog will hopefully see ‘me’ re-emerge.  For now, I’m only certain about a few things that are truly are me – things and interests that have spanned some time and prior to my life becoming that of a psychiatric patient living moment to moment. I’m a 31 year old Christian who enjoys law, reading, history, archaeology and guinea pigs. I’m not sure about much else other than that.

Thanks for taking the time to read this introduction and hopefully, we will get to ‘meet’ each other over the coming months.

Carrie

About Carrie Quinn

I'm a former solicitor whose life was turned upside down due to problems with my mental health. I'm now aiming towards recovery, which to me means rebuilding a meaningful life - not necessarily disorder free.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

