#AdventBookClub Chapter 4, Casper

Just a very short one in the #AdventBookClub series.

Chapter 4 of Stephen Cottrell’s book, Walking Backwards to Christmas focuses on the story of

Casper, a wise man. The reading for the chapter is Matthew 2: 1-2, 10-12 (NLT):

Jesus was born in Bethlehem in Judea, during the reign of King Herod. About that time some wise men from eastern lands arrived in Jerusalem, asking “Where is the new born king of the Jews? We saw his star as it rose, and we have come to worship him”…When they saw the star, they were filled with joy” They entered the house and saw the child with his mother, Mary and they bowed down and worshipped him. Then they opened their treasure chests and gave him gifts of gold, frankincense, and myrrh.

When it was time to leave, they returned to their own country by another route, for God had warned then in a dream not to return to Herod.

There was a sign in this story marking an event so (geographically) far away from the wise men but they responded to it faithfully and continually until they reached Jesus (God made man). They were expecting to see the Messiah and that is who they saw.

That faithfulness is something I would love to be able to cultivate in my own life but the problem is whenever something goes wrong (or rather, not how I would like it to go) I find myself struggling to look up towards God and His way. Even when times are not hard I take my focus off God, I become complacent in the knowledge that oneday I will also see the Messiah. But what is it I am missing out on in the meantime? What joy and strength do I miss out on by losing that focus? I hope during this time of Advent I can bring back my focus a little more to God and His way. How great would it be to be looking towards God still at death or the Second Coming?

About Carrie Quinn

I'm a former solicitor whose life was turned upside down due to problems with my mental health. I'm now aiming towards recovery, which to me means rebuilding a meaningful life - not necessarily disorder free.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #AdventBookClub Chapter 4, Casper

  1. grahart says:

    Hey you. The fact you are doing this is a sign of the faithfulness that is still in you. It is very easy to leave God till last, and we are all guilty of it! But perhaps advent is a time to practise the presence of God, so that the habits we build during it might stay with us for at least part of the next year. Keep going!

  2. Carrie Quinn says:

    Yeah. It feels good to be using some of Advent to be put aside for something different. I’m also finding it useful to have other people to read alongside and give me encouragement 🙂

Leave a Reply

